Basel-Mulhouse Airport Board of Directors, Swiss delegation: two changes, renewal of terms of office and re-election of Vice-President

Renewal of terms of offices and two new Board members

In her letter of 21 November 2016, the Director of the Federal Department of the Environment, Transport, Energy and Communications (DETEC), nominated the 8 Swiss members of the Board of Directors of Basel-Mulhouse Airport for a term of office from 25 November 2016 to 24 November 2022.

Christoph BRUTSCHIN, councillor of Basel-City canton, Sabine PEGORARO, councillor of Basel-Country canton, Andreas BÜTTIKER, Director of Baselland Transport AG, Thomas KNOPF, CEO of Ultra-Brag AG, Thomas SIEBER, Bâloise Group board member and Marcel ZUCKSCHWERDT, Deputy Director of OFAC, remain for a new term of office.

In addition, the Swiss delegation of the Board of Directors will welcome two new members. Jan BITTEL, Co-Head of the Economic Affairs division at FOCA (Federal Office of Civil Aviation) takes the place of Philippe CLAPASSON, who is resigning. Elisabeth ACKERMANN, councillor and future president of Basel-City canton as per 1 February 2017, takes the seat of Guy MORIN, who has decided to retire from the political scene and thus leaves the airport board on 31 January 2017 after office of more than 12 years.

The Board of Directors pays tribute to Guy MORIN, who has supported the airport steadfastly and single-mindedly, with tolerance and respect for the different points of view expressed by those involved.

Re-election of the Vice-President

In its meeting of 2 December 2016, the Board of Directors unanimously re-elected Andreas BÜTTIKER as Vice-President of Basel-Mulhouse Airport.
Andreas BÜTTIKER, Director of Baselland Transport AG and representative of Basel-Country canton, has held the office of Vice-President since 1 August 2013 at the side of the President, Jean-Pierre LAVIELLE.
President LAVIELLE and Vice-President BÜTTIKER work closely together in an atmosphere of complete trust. The closeness of their collaboration contributes greatly to the quality of Franco-Swiss relations and the excellent working climate on the Board of Directors.

Members of the Board of Directors of Basel-Mulhouse Airport

 8 French members

8 Swiss members

Jean-Pierre LAVIELLE

President of the Board of Directors

Deputy President of the South Alsace Mulhouse Chamber of Industry and Commerce

Vice-President of the Board of Directors

Director BLT (Baselland Transport AG)

Pierre-Yves BISSAUGE

Representative French Civil Aviation Authority (DGAC)

Guy MORIN (until 31 January 2017)

Elisabeth ACKERMANN (as of 1 February 2017)

Councillor and President of Basel-City canton

Jean-Marie BOCKEL

President Mulhouse Alsace Agglomeration


Co-Head of Economic Affairs Division FOCA


Deputy Director of French Civil Aviation Authority (DGAC)


Councillor Basel-City


Member of the South Alsace Mulhouse Chamber of Industry and Commerce

Thomas KNOPF

Member of the Board of Directors CEO Ultra-Brag AG


President, Upper Rhine Department Council

Councillor Basel-Country

Laurent TOUVET

Prefect of the Upper Rhine

Dr. Thomas SIEBER

Member of corporate management, Bâloise Group

Jean-Marie ZOELLE

Mayor of Saint-Louis


Vice-Director FOCA


Members with advisory role


2 German representatives

1 Represenative from the Canton Jura

Dr. Dieter SALOMON

Mayor of Freiburg


Former minister of the Economy and Cooperation of the Republic of the Canton Jura


President of the government of Freiburg